truthful tuesday: working for what?

My brother Aric has wisdom beyond his mere 21 years should allow. But the cool thing that I’ve learned about life is that age doesn’t necessarily constitute wisdom…common sense, maybe, but not always wisdom. Godly wisdom can make even the youngest of believers more mature than most adults.

He had a good point recently about what our perspective as Christians should be. Americans do seem to try their best to get “ahead”, working tirelessly sometimes just to build up that 401k, to get their pensions and “collect” during the last few years of life. Are we really supposed to just stop working and do whatever we want in our final chapter here on earth? I don’t think we have the right idea.

God doesn’t want us to be in debt to any man because He knows it hinders us from pouring into His kingdom. We wish we could give the thousands we give each month to a mortgage and student loans to those in need. Wow, imagine if everyone could do that….what a radical change this world would see. And instead of coasting along in our final years, to go out with a BANG! To die knowing that I finished strong!!! And aren’t we supposed to live that way anyway? Since we are never promised tomorrow anyway, what have we done today to show Jesus to the world?

All I know is that I don’t want to be embarrassed someday not having enough to lay back down at His feet. I could always do more. I pray that I will have complete restlessness…to never settle and be found lazy. We don’t really have time to “rest” down here….that will come later on when we can rest in the glory of His presence. I hope that if he gives me 100 years that on my last day here I wont be found wishing I had done more. I hope that I’m busy and proud that I have lived…truly LIVED!

The greatest secret [that’s really not-so-secret] to happiness in life is to lose it. And it’s perplexing to think about it if you’ve never given up control of your life, but it’s seriously the only real way to happiness. Stop living for you. Stop caring what people think about what you look like, what you drive, where you live, what’s in your bank account and just do the best with what Jesus has given you and live to make Him smile and you will [without a doubt] have the best life imaginable. Because by giving your life away, you gain everything.

I think Jesus said it best [naturally]:) 

“To Find Your Life You Must Lose It”

Matthew 16:24-28

So, don’t get too comfortable here. [We can’t take any of this with us anyway.] And live for the One who paid it all.

One thought on “truthful tuesday: working for what?

  1. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this Alicia. This has actually truly been the hardest thing for me to ever do is just let go and trust that God is going to lead me to where I need to go. But at this beginning of this year I have made this my “resolution”, to just let go, let all my worries about life go and KNOW that God will help me make my decisons in life and will lead me.

    Like

Leave a comment